Term Dates

Term dates for the 2018/19 academic year.

 
Autumn Term 2018
New international pupils arrive Monday 03 September
New pupils and boarders arrive Tuesday 04 September
Term starts Wednesday 05 September
1st Exeat Friday 28 September (13:30) to Sunday 30 September (21:00)
Singing and Speaking competition Saturday 20 October (19:00)
Half Term Sunday 21 October (09:00) to Sunday 04 November (21:00)
2nd Exeat Friday 23 November (13:30) to Sunday 25 November (21:00)
Term ends
Friday 14 December (13:00)
Easter Term 2019
Term starts                                       Thursday 10 January (boarders arrive Wednesday 09 January)
1st Exeat Friday 25 January (13:30) to Sunday 27 January (21:00)
Half Term Friday 15 February (13:30) to Sunday 24 February (21:00)
2nd Exeat Friday 15 March (13:30) to Sunday 17 March (21:00)
Spring Concert Friday 29 March (19:00)
Term ends Saturday 30 March (09:00)
Summer Term 2019
Term starts                               
Wednesday 24 April (boarders arrive Tuesday 23 April)
1st Exeat
Friday 10 May (13:30) to Sunday 12 May (21:00)
Speech Day Saturday 25 May (09:45)
Half Term
Saturday 25 May (16:00) to Sunday 02 June (21:00)
Leavers Service and Ball Friday 21 June (17:00)
2nd Exeat  Friday 21 June (13:30) to Sunday 23 June (21:00)
Term ends
Thursday 04 July (11:00)

We would ask all parents for their co-operation in ensuring that travel arrangements and family holiday plans do not encroach on teaching or activity time. Any request for arrival/departure at times other than those stated above should be made directly to Neil Gemmell, School Master.

 

On return from Exeats and holidays the boarding Houses are open from 17:00 onwards. Should you wish to bring your sons or daughters back earlier than this time, please would you contact his or her Housemaster or Housemistress to discuss individual arrangements.

 

Boarders in Year 7 and Year 8 must return to Catteral for 20:00 at the end of each Exeat or holiday. Pupils in Years 9 and above must return in time for 2100 at the latest.

 

Please note:

  • Exeats will begin on Fridays at 13:30.
  • Parents’ Conferences will be scheduled to start at 13:30 and will be held in The Pavilion unless otherwise stated.
  • Parents and guardians are warmly invited to all events listed above. Those attending the Singing & Speaking Competition and the Spring Concert may take their sons and daughters home after these events.
  • The summer half term commences with Speech Day, the highlight of the school’s year. As well as Prize Giving in the morning all pupils are involved in exhibitions and events throughout the afternoon. All parents and guardians are invited to attend.
  • Please note that due to limited space in Chapel, the Carol Service is open to parents of Year 7 and U6th form pupils only.
  • The 2nd Exeat of the Summer term may begin at 17:00 for some pupils, particularly those in Y11, L6th or U6th, depending on their public examination timetables.