Meet our Heads of School 2021-22
Ben Harris

We are delighted to announce the appointment of our new Heads of School for 2021/22. Our Head Boy & Head Girl for the next academic year will be Tom Valentine (Nowell) and Martha Richmond (Carr). Our Deputy Heads of School will be Olivia Henson (Carr) and Isaac Larkin (Morrison).

Tom joined Giggleswick for Sixth Form and is looking forward to raising the profile of the school’s values of participation, ambition, and respect. Since joining Giggleswick Tom has fully embraced the CAS programme, taking part in a wide range of extra-curricular activities including Model United Nations, the 1st XV rugby team, and the Duke of Edinburgh’s Gold Award.

“Giggleswick has provided me with opportunities that I would not have had otherwise, so now I want to give back to the community by working together with members of staff, Praepostors, and the student body to make this incredible school even greater.”

Martha has been a Giggleswickian since joining the Junior School, and is looking forward to placing well-being and the community atmosphere of the school at the heart of the initiatives next year, and to allow and encourage every pupil to flourish in the environment we create. She hopes to be an advocate for participation, from her own experiences as being a member of the environmental committee, lead cast members in productions and Senior in CCF and the choir.

“The experiences that I have gained from my years here have provided me with an invaluable skillset for the future, and so I feel that immersing yourself into new opportunities is where Giggleswick excels. I aim to use the periods of virtual learning not as a setback, but as an opportunity to enhance the inclusion and sense of unity that we have always had as a school, improving communication, and increasing the number of charity events throughout the year as restrictions allow.”

Headmaster, Mr Turnbull, said: “Both Martha and Tom embody the values of Giggleswick for the positive manner in which they embrace the opportunities to participate in the full breadth of the curriculum. I look forward to working with them to support the wider pupil body.”

The full Praepostor team for 2021/22 are as follows:

Heads of School

Martha Richmond & Tom Valentine

Deputy Heads of School

Olivia Henson & Isaac Larkin

Heads of House

Carr - Sophie Huber

Morrison - Max Rayner

Nowell - Rowan Tweedale

Paley - Oliver Newbury

Shute - Will Scott

Style - Holly Warburton


Academic - Maud Humphries & Emma Belshaw

Equality and Diversity - Rachel Curry

International - Kian Schmidt

Music - Imogen Crombie

Performing Arts - Oscar Russell

Sport - Isabella Fox-Tristram & Alison Fry

Wellbeing - Jess Rudden